The 7 chakras


This is some research I did for one of my crystal course assignments. I will be sharing more information I researched. These posts are not meant to be exhaustive!

The seven chakras

The seven chakras, or ‘wheels’ in Sanskrit, are spiralling cones of energy situated in different points of the body. The chakras are linked to colour, sound and light and create an energy flow from one part of the body to another.  Another frequency of the energy and conscious is obtained in a spiralling fashion. Crystals can be used to heal by balancing the chakras and bringing them into alignment.

The first chakra is called the base or the root chakra, and is located at the base of the spine. It includes the only cells in the body (8 primary cells) that never change and that contain the knowledge of creation. As such the root chakra serves for connecting us to the physical world and is associated with grounding, stillness, the earth and our survival instincts. In addition, it acts like an anchor in our lives: it is the basis for any kind of security, whether that be material security, moral, health, physiological or family-related security. This chakra resonated with the colour red.

The sacral chakra is the second chakra and is located right beneath the navel. When this chakra is awakened, our creativity, fertility and sexual capacity are heightened.  It also teaches us to find balance in our lives and to deal with control issues. Emotional problems or sexual guilt arises when there is a blockage regarding this chakra. Balancing this chakra associated with the colour orange or red-orange allows you to express your emotions, to accept change and to let go of anxiety and emotional pain.

The solar plexus chakra or the power chakra is associated with the colour yellow and with our personal power, autonomy, fear and metabolism. In short: it has to do with our self-esteem. A blockage generally translates into feelings of anger or a tendency to victimize. On the other hand, when this chakra vibrates at its optimum level, it produces a healthy self-image, spontaneity, energy, effectiveness and a sense of personal power.

Our heart chakra rules how we give and receive love. Therefore this chakra plays a very important role in our happiness and health. Moreover, it is also related to the balance of opposites: mind and body, ying and yang, the upper and lower chakras. A blockage can manifest itself as a lack of compassion or can bring about heart problems and immune system problems. In order to have a healthy heart chakra, we must also learn to love ourselves. The colours for this chakra are green and pink.

The throat chakra is the fifth chakra and, as its name indicates, it is situated in the throat and neck region. It’s associated with creativity and communication. Consequently, the challenge that this chakra poses is to express ourselves as honestly as possible. So when we lie, or when we fail to communicate our emotions properly, there is a blockage concerning this chakra. The throat chakra, associated with the colour sky blue, is our will centre and it is also the centre through which we receive information. 

The sixth chakra, also referred to as the third eye or the mind centre, is located in the centre of the forehead. Through this chakra wisdom is obtained: open-mindedness, the ability to learn from our experiences and put them in perspective and the ability to separate reality from fantasy and illusions. We also receive visual images through this chakra, hence its association with clairvoyance and psychic abilities. Finally, it is also associated with imagination and dreaming and with the colour indigo.

The 7th chakra is the highest chakra and goes by the name of the crown chakra or the Soulstar. This very spiritual chakra can be experienced as a pressure on the top of the head. It serves as a source from which we draw our intuition, it is a tool to connect with our spiritual nature and receive messages from higher realms. Sometimes this chakra is portrayed as a lotus flower opening up to absorb the life force from the universe (after which the life force is sent into the lower six chakras) and to awaken the individual spiritually. In conclusion, this chakra is associated with the colours white, purple and violet and with understanding, bliss, the divine and spirituality.

Gana Moonfire


Chakra Workout by Anita (


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Copyright notice

All entered text is ©2010 of the author, unless otherwise stated.

In order to reproduce any material, permission needs to granted by the author, either Morgana Moonfire or Archangel Amitiel.

Dark Moon Circle

As a sister of the DMC, Morgana aka Funky Chicken would like to honour this wonderfully supportive circle of sisters who never hesitate to offer guidance and share their wisdom.
%d bloggers like this: